Religious Studies

Cross-searchable and browsable full-text dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, and Oxford Companions in a variety of disciplines, including the natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, and arts.

Premier resource for etymological studies containing the meaning, history, and derivation of over half a million words in the English language. Provides examples of both current and historical word usage through more than 2.5 million quotations from a variety of sources. Includes etymological analysis, pronunciation, and variant spellings.

Provides full-text access to subject based handbooks in a variety of disciplines. Each handbook offers a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study. Individual chapters review key issues and major debates, providing an in-depth overview of the field as well as a selected bibliography for further reading.

Provides full-text access to major works of classical and modern philosophy, including those by Aquinas, Aristotle, John Dewey, Kant, Martin Luther, Ockham, Santayana, and Wittgenstein, among many others. Includes works of political and religious thought by individual authors, as well as works representative of philosophical movements pertaining to time periods and geographic regions (e.g., British philosophy, 1600-1900). Works are presented in their original language or in translation; non-English-language works may be translated roughly into English by using the "Tools--Translate" feature.