Official Government Website (versions: 1994-current).
Print: JPL 3rd Floor KF62 (Titles 1-50, Tables, General Index, Supplements)
Official version of all general and permanent federal laws in force. Public Laws are arranged under fifty “titles” or subject categories. Does not summarize legislative history but cites Statutes at Large. Older editions available.
Print: JPL 3rd Floor KF62 (Title 1-50, USCA Code Guide, General Index A-Z, USCA Tables I-II, USCA Laws) (No longer updated)
From West Publishing, unofficial compilation of general and permanent laws in force. Same arrangement as United States Code (U.S.C.) but also lists references to case law, legislative histories, administrative regulations and various secondary sources.
(Pathway: Subject or Topic > Legal > Federal Statutes)
Unofficial, annotated version of the United States Code (U.S.C.) which also lists references to case law, legislative histories, administrative regulations and law review articles. LexisNexis Academic will cease December 31, 2017. See Nexis Uni.
Locate under "All Sources"
Unofficial, annotated version of the United States Code (U.S.C.) which also lists references to case law, legislative histories, administrative regulations and law review articles.
Print: JPL 3rd Floor KF63 .C65 (78th Congress 1944-2013) (no longer updated)
At the end of each Congressional session, cumulates slip laws from each session. Contains complete text of all public and private laws and concurrent resolutions passed during that session. Gives citations to U.S. Code and brief legislative history. From West Publishing.
Official government website (1951-2011)
Print: JPL 3rd Floor KF50 .U52 (1972-present)
MIcrofilm: JPL 4th Floor KF50 .U52 (1789-1971)
Archival (1789-1875) (vol. 1-18): American Memory Project (open access) Law Library of Congress (complete) (open access)
Statutes at Large is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. Prepared and published by the Office of the Federal Register and National Archives and Records Administration.
Under the provisions of 1 U.S.C. 112, the printed edition of the Statutes at Large is legal evidence of the laws, concurrent resolutions, proclamations by the President, and proposed and ratified amendments to the Constitution.
Free Government Website. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (current).
Codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations published by executive departments and agencies in the Federal Register. The CFR is divided into 50 broad subject areas known as titles.
Other sources of CFR:
Online (UTSA subscription): ProQuest Congressional (under "Regulations" on top menu) (1981-current)
Official Government Website: FDsys (1996-current) (Annual Edition)
Print: Title 3 ONLY (The President) (Microfiche: 1978-1985; Print: 1986-2010) Govt Docs 4th Floor AE2.106/3:
Print JPL Govt Docs 4th Floor:AE 2.1062-2: 1973-85 (1973-2000)
Index of updates to Federal regulations. Finding aid for historical research in CFR to find precise text of provisions on any given date. Each issue contains the CFR part and section number, and status indicated if amended, confirmed or revised, and Federal Register page number where the change may be found.
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive Orders and other presidential documents. Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). (1970-current) (Browse or use Advanced Search)
> ProQuest Congressional (under "Regulations" on top menu) (1970-current)
> LexisNexis Academic (1936-current) (Under Search by Subject or Topic > Federal Statutes and Regulations ) LexisNexis Academic will cease December 31, 2017. See Nexis Uni.
Various Administrative Decisions can be found in Nexis Uni, such as Department of Interior ALJ Decisions or Dept. of Labor Opinion Letters, or U.S. Attorney General Opinions
Search All Sources for particular files.
Free Government Website: FDsys (1994-2010)
Developing or recently published regulations. Published twice a year, summarizes the rules and proposed rules that each Federal agency expects to issue during the next year.
Provides information on the status of government agency documents undergoing review by the Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs (OIRA). FAQ page gives a good explanation of the rule-making process.
Legislative histories enable users to trace the development of a public law from its early consideration to its enactment, including development that spans more than one Congress.
Various Administrative Decisions can be found in LexisNexis Academic, such as Department of Interior ALJ Decisions or Dept. of Labor Opinion Letters.
Check Source Directory > Browse > Administrative Materials & Regulations.
Or search for a particular file through Source Directory > Find LexisNexis Academic will cease December 31, 2017. See Nexis Uni.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides full text access to 15,000 news, business and legal sources including U.S. Federal and State case law, statutes and regulations; law journals; U.S. and international news; and company and industry financial information. Create a free Nexis Uni profile in order to access personal folders, alerts, and a collaborative workspace. Updated daily.