- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Italian Language, Literature & Culture
Italian Language, Literature & Culture
Guide to print and online sources for Italian language learning, literature and culture
Photo credit: Venice, Italy, clipart.com.
Dictionaries
- Google TranslateWith more than 100 supported languages you can translate words, sentences, text and documents into or from your preferred language. Supports uploading and translation of documents including searchable PDFs.
Note: This is machine translation so 100% accuracy in translation and grammar not guaranteed.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowCross searchable and browsable full text subject, language and quotation dictionaries and subject encyclopedias, and Oxford Companions. Content covers a variety of disciplines, including the natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, and arts.
Online Dictionaries
- WordReferenceEnglish/Italian, Italian/English dictionaries. Participate in online "forums" to ask questions or discuss meanings of words, phrases or idioms.
- Forvo.com - ItalianMore than 59,000 Italian words pronounced by native speakers.
Print Dictionaries at the UTSA Libraries
Collins Italian DictionaryCall Number: PC1640 .C38 2008
Italian-English DictionaryCall Number: PC1640 I75 2007
McGraw-Hill's Italian Student DictionaryCall Number: PC1640 .D56 2008
Oxford Paravia Italian DictionaryCall Number: PC1640 .O95 2006
Streetwise Italian Dictionary / Thesaurus: The User Friendly Guide to Italian Slang and Idioms by Call Number: PC1971 .S77 2005
Grammar & Linguistics
The Routledge Introduction to Italian Linguistics by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2023A systematic and comprehensive overview of the linguistic structure of the Italian language, including phonetics and phonology, morphology and morphosyntax, syntax, semantics, and sociolinguistics. The manual includes a historical sketch of the Italian language, which outlines the central phases of its emergence and process of standardization.
Italian Grammar for Dummies by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2013If you're looking to master fluency in the Italian language but struggle with the details of grammar, Italian Grammar For Dummies has you covered.
