- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Newspapers & News Articles
Newspapers & News Articles
Librarian
Find a Newspaper or Journal Subscription
Journal Titles Tab (link)
Free Wall Street Journal Subscription for UTSA students, faculty and staff
- Wall Street Journal (Current) | WSJ.com This link opens in a new windowRegister for free access to WSJ.com and the WSJ apps. Includes all WSJ articles, videos, interactive features, digital print daily edition, and more.
The Wall Street Journal website has articles from the print and online version, videos, podcasts, blogs,
4-year news archive, 1 week full page images, audio, graphics, industry data, classroom resources, WSJ Magazine, e-books, newsletters and alerts, and access to special events.
Current News in Major Newspapers in UTSA Databases
Many newspapers have two (or more) versions: Articles from print and web versions may appear in separate database files. The "online" versions typically contain content from blogs, podcasts, and web only articles. Note: all content from blogs, podcasts and web only articles may not be included in subscription databases such as ProQuest.
Note: Some sources reprinted from other sources may not be in aggregators for a particular newspaper.
Also see Historical Newspapers tab for older editions.
- Christian Science Monitor (ProQuest)1980-current ProQuest Central - Text Only
Also see Historical Newspapers tab
- San Antonio Express-News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window2018 - current – Full Image of print edition
- Washington PostProQuest - 1988 - current - Text Only
Certain freelance articles may not be available.
- Wall Street Journal (Current) | WSJ.com This link opens in a new windowRegister for free access to WSJ.com and the WSJ apps. Includes all WSJ articles, videos, interactive features, digital print daily edition, and more.
- Wall Street Journal (online)ProQuest - 2010 - current - Text Only
Articles from online edition of newspaper. Does not include blogs.
Includes articles from WSJ Magazine
New York Times (Current News)
Many newspapers have two (or more) editions: Articles from print and web versions may appear in separate database files. The "online" versions typically contain content from blogs, podcasts, and web only articles. Also see New York Times Historical database for full image 1851 - 2018) .
Not all features, including graphics and interactive online features, are available through our databases. Register for one-day access to the online New York Times through the San Antonio Public Library. San Antonio Public Library > NYT at SAPL Click on "Special Code" to set up an account.
- New York TimesProQuest - 1980 - current - Mostly Text (with some images) (Late Edition - East Coast)
Note: For full image of NYT Magazine or NYT Book Review - see links below. - New York Times (online)ProQuest - 1996 - current - Text Only
Online articles, blogs, website and podcasts. - New York Times (Late Edition - Final)Nexis Uni - 1980 - current - Text Only
Nexis and ProQuest may have some differences in coverage. - New York Times via SAPLSan Antonio Public Library cardholders can create an account and redeem a special code for one-day access that renews each day,
See San Antonio Public Library > NYT at SAPL
Click on "Special Code" to set up an account. - New York Times Video Collection (via Gale)2008 - current Gale Academic OneFile (does not include all videos nor interactive content from blogs and podcasts)
- New York Times (ProQuest Recent Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowFull-page images of the New York Times print edition digitized from microfilm. Search full text or browse by date. Date coverage: 2008 to 3 months ago. For current articles see: ProQuest New York Times.
- New York Times (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1851-2019. Includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
Major Journals with Current News
- The Atlantic (formerly Atlantic Monthly)Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
1993 - current - Full Image
Note! Web version and print version of articles frequently have different titles
Also available through Bibliotech
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Every week a new report examines a single topic of public concern giving the reader a broad overview of the subject, including historical background, and a discussion of current controversies and initiatives, highlighting the range of opinions among experts.
- National Geographic (current issues)For current issue see Bexar County's Bibliotech
- National Geographic Magazine Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new windowA searchable full text, full image, digital archive of the well-known magazine. With a focus on exploration and discovery, the magazine offers comprehensive, timely articles, award winning photographs, and maps. Produced by the National Geographic Society. Coverage: 1888-2020.
- New YorkerAcademic Search Complete (EBSCO)
2004 - current - Text Only
For Full Image see Bexar County's Bibliotech
- Science Online This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles from Science magazine, the noted weekly journal of science research, news, and discussion, as well as Science Now, a daily news briefing for the sciences, both published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Note: Additional features available from this site, such as Science's Knowledge Environments and Science Next Wave, are not part of UTSA's subscription. However, patrons may have limited access to these features.
- Time MagazineAcademic Search Complete (EBSCO)
2014 - current - Full Image
Earlier editions - Text Only - BiblioTech Digital LibraryBexar County's BiblioTech Digital Library offers access to many online resources from your computer or smart device. You must be a Bexar County resident to register. If you are a UTSA student, or faculty or staff member you qualify. Register for an account.
Wall Street Journal - FAQ and Citing
- Wall Street Journal (Current) | WSJ.com This link opens in a new windowRegister for free access to WSJ.com and the WSJ apps. Includes all WSJ articles, videos, interactive features, digital print daily edition, and more.
Wall Street Journal Website FAQ
What Content is in the Wall Street Journal website?
The Wall Street Journal website has articles from the print and online version, videos, podcasts, blogs,
4-year news archive, 1 week full page images, audio, graphics, industry data, classroom resources, WSJ Magazine, e-books, newsletters and alerts, and access to special events.
How do I create a PDF file?
- When you are in the article you want, choose: Share > Print > Save as PDF .
Can I email articles to myself or others?
- There's an option to email links to articles. If the recipient is not a WSJ subscriber, choose "free article"
Can I get full page image of the current newspaper?
- Click on the link “print edition” under WSJ banner and then choose “Read WSJ Print edition”. You can view one week of page images. Click on the share icon to download an article as a PDF file. You can also have the image of the print version sent to you by choosing
How do I view a list of articles in the print edition?
- Go to “print edition” under WSJ banner and click “Read Stories” button to view a list of articles by date, going back three months by categories: Front Page, U.S. News, World News, Life & Arts, Opinion, Business & Finance.
Is there a news archive?
- Four years of archived articles.
How do I find articles older than 4 years from the Wall Street Journal?
- For older articles, consult ProQuest versions listed on the Newspapers Research Guide.
- Wall Street Journal Historical (1889-2010) full image (ProQuest)
- Wall Street Journal (1923-current) text only (ProQuest)
- Wall Street Journal online (2010-current) text only (ProQuest)
How do I search for articles or topics?
- Use the search feature by clicking on the magnifying glass
and typing in search terms. (covid and workforce, for example). - That search page also gives you the option to go to an Advanced Search where you can pick specific dates or date ranges (up to 4 years) and choose specific formats (articles, videos, blogs, etc.)
- Be aware newspaper articles may have slightly different titles in different editions.
How do I search for an exact article?
- You can search by title or author. Since titles vary between editions, author or author and a keyword may be your best bet.
Does WSJ.com have a citation generator?
- The Wall Street Journal website does not have a built-in citation generator.
- For citation examples, see: Santa Fe College guide.
Basic WSJ Citation Template:
APA
Author Last Name, Author Initials. (if available) (Full Date). Title of article. The Wall Street Journal. URL
- Example: Corse, A, (October 31, 2022). Elon Musk Is Forming Circle of Advisers as He Reimagines Twitter, The Wall Street Journal. https://www.wsj.com/articles/elon-musk-is-forming-circle-of-advisers-as-he-reimagines-twitter-11667257591?mod=itp_wsj&ru=yahoo
MLA
Author. "Title of Article." The Wall Street Journal, Full Date. URL.
Chicago: Author-Date
Author. Year. "Title of Article." The Wall Street Journal, Full Date. URL.
Chicago: Notes & Bibliography
Author. "Title of Article." The Wall Street Journal, Full Date. URL.
Questions? Contact rita.wilson@utsa.edu
1/30/2023