Archival Resources

A guide to archival resources at UTSA Libraries Special Collections.

Archival Reference Services

Two researchers using Special Collections resources at the Institute of Texan Cultures

Image: Two researchers using Special Collections resources at the Institute of Texan Cultures. UTSA Special Collections.

We are happy to assist in identifying archival collections or rare books that are relevant to your research. We can also help with using the collection guides (finding aids). We encourage you to contact us with questions or for assistance.

Please note that due to staffing constraints, Special Collections staff is not able to provide in-depth research services as part of its reference function. If your research request is in-depth, requiring detailed examination of archival collections, you will be directed to make an appointment to visit Special Collections to conduct your own research. If you are unable to conduct your own in-depth research, you may consider hiring your own independent researcher to perform the work for you.

Finding Relevant Archival Resources at UTSA

UTSA Special Collections maintains several hundred archival collections and thousands of rare books. Using the following tools can help you find the appropriate collections for your research.

      Collection guides are descriptive inventories of collections commonly known as finding aids.

Explore resources by type:

Photocopy and Reproduction Services

Special Collections is pleased to provide reproductions of our textual, visual and audio materials, when such reproductions will not damage the original, violate copyright, or violate any restrictions imposed by the donor. These services are free of charge for UTSA students, faculty, staff, or departments. Note that large orders may take an extended period of time to fill.