This is the "Home" page of the "Civil Rights in Texas" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
This guide provides resources for the study of the history of civil rights in Texas.
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utsa.edu/TexasCivilRights Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Associated Programming

Photo courtesy: Scott Sherer

The Struggle for Civil Rights in Texas
Institute of Texan Cultures, January 11 - March 30, 2014. Extended to May 4th!
Learn more


7th Annual African American Studies Symposium
100 Years Forward in African American Literary and Visual Arts
UTSA Main Campus, February 20, 2014
Learn more

 

Additional Resources

The following UTSA Libraries Research Guides provide additional resources on the broader aspects of:

Civil Rights Movement in the U.S.

Texas History

African American Studies / Black History

Latino / Latina Studies

Martin Luther King, Jr.

Historical Newspapers (including San Antonio newspapers)

San Antonio Government

 

 

This guide was created with the collaboration of Associate Professor Scott Sherer and the students in his "Exhibiting Civil Rights" course, Summer 2013.
Additional thanks to fellow collaborators Juli McLoone, Amy Rushing, Tara Schmidt and Rita Wilson.

 

Studying Civil Rights in Texas

When one thinks of civil rights, one often thinks first of the Civil Rights Movement of the 1950s and 60s. However, issues of civil rights in Texas predate this movement and encompass many different groups. This guide will focus primarily on civil rights issues associated with African Americans and Mexican Americans in Texas, from the 1800s to the present.

See also our other Research Guide: Civil Rights Movement in the U.S.

 

Bibliographies and Reference Works

Cover Art
Exploring the Afro-Texas Experience: A Bibliography of Secondary Sources About Black Texans - Glasrud, Bruce and Laurie Champion
Call Number: E185.93 .T4 G55 2000
ISBN: 0964762978
JPL 4th Floor Special Collections, Folio Stacks

This bibliography includes material on African-American history, folkways, fiction, films, and politics in Texas.

 

A Sampling of Books

Cover Art
The African American Experience in Texas - Smallwood, James M. and Bruce A. Glasrud
Call Number: E185.93.T4 A38 2007
JPL 3rd Floor Graduate Study Room

Cover Art
African Americans and Race Relations in San Antonio, Texas, 1867-1937 - Mason, Kenneth
Call Number: F394 .S29 N46 1998
JPL 3rd Floor Graduate Study Room
Also available in Rare Books at JPL Special Collections


Status of Civil Rights in Texas - United States Commission on Civil Rights. Texas State Advisory Committee.
Call Number: JC599 .U52 T49 1980
JPL 4th Floor Special Collections, Folio Stacks

 

Still Fighting Today

Do we still need to fight for civil rights today?  Civil rights are inextricably linked to discrimination of any kind.  Do racism, gender discrimination, homophobia, and other types of discrimination persist?  As long as the answer is "yes," civil rights battles will need to be fought.

San Antonio received unwanted national attention during the 2013 NBA Finals when Sebastien De La Cruz, a Mexican American boy born and raised in San Antonio, was taunted with racist comments in social media after singing the national anthem before the San Antonio Spurs / Miami Heat games. You can find images of Sebastien, stories, and commentary on the event by doing a Google search.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Shari Salisbury
Contact Info
John Peace Library
University of Texas at San Antonio
1 UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249

(210) 458-4763
Send Email
Education:
Master of Library Science

Manuscripts Curator

Profile Image
Nikki Lynn Thomas
Contact Info
UTSA Libraries Special Collections
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
210.458.8593
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip